RootsTech Free Online Sessions – Thursday, March 21

This week is the RootsTech Conference in Salt Lake City (Thurs. – Sat.). They are offering some of their sessions online for free. If you have the time, I suggest watching as many of these sessions to aid you in your genealogical research. Each session is about an hour.

These are the sessions that will online on Thursday, March 21st:

10:30 Eastern Time (ET), 8:30 Mountain Time (MT), 7:30 Pacific time (PT)
Keynote – 3 speakers
  1. Dennis C. Brimhall who is currently the President and CEO of FamilySearch International. FamilySearch is a worldwide organization helping individuals find, preserve, catalogue, and search genealogical information. FamilySearch International is sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He was formerly the President and Chief Executive Officer of University of Colorado Hospital.
  2. Syd Lieberman who is a nationally acclaimed storyteller, an author, and an award-winning teacher. Many of his best-loved stories deal with growing up in Chicago and raising a family in Evanston, Illinois. Also known for his original historical pieces, Syd has written stories for some of America’s leading institutions and agencies, including the Smithsonian; Historic Philadelphia, Inc.; NASA; and the U.S. Capitol Visitor Center.
  3. D. Joshua Taylor, MA, MLS is the Business Development Manager – North America for brightsolid online publishing, the creator of findmypast.com. A nationally known and recognized professional genealogist, lecturer, genealogical author, and researcher, Taylor is the current president of the Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) and the former Director of Education at the New England Historic Genealogical Society.

 

1:00 pm ET, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT
The Future of Genealogy – Thomas MacEntee and a panel
Where will the genealogy industry and the family history community be in the next five years? What tools will be most important, what products will consumers want? Our panel of experts from the genealogy world make their predictions for the future of genealogy. Where will the genealogy industry and the family history community be in the next five years? What tools will be most important, what products will consumers want? Our panel of experts from the genealogy world make their predictions for the future of genealogy. Outline of this session (PDF file).

 

3:45 pm ET, 1:45 pm MT, 12:45 pm PT
Tell It Again (Story@Home) – Kim Weitkamp
In one quick workshop learn the tricks that will make people ask you to, Tell It Again. Whether your are a blogger, a parent, a performer, a speaker, or a CEO…learning how to craft and deliver a good story is a tool that we all need in our toolbox. From bedside to podium, statistics show that story is the greatest form of communication available to us. Kim Weitkamp, will share easy to apply basics that will help you tell stories that will be requested over and over again.

 

5:00 pm ET, 3:00 pm MT, 2:00 pm PT
The Genealogists Gadget Bag – Jill Ball with Marie Dougan & A. C. Ivory
In this show and tell session, lead by Australian Jill Ball, an international panel of genealogists will discuss and display the contents of the gadget bags they take with them on their genealogy jaunts.

Each panelist will outline what she just can’t live without when visiting families, going on road trips, setting sail on a geneacruise, dropping by a cemetery, visiting resource repositories or attending a genealogy conference. Outline for this session (PDF file).

6:15 pm ET, 4:15 pm MT, 3:15 pm PT
Finding the Obscure and the Elusive: Geographic Information on the Web – James Tanner
To locate an ancestor, you need to know a name, a date and a place. Even if you know a name and date, finding that ancestor can be a frustrating experience when the location of an event is very elusive or no longer in existence. Fortunately, new online map tools, plus time-proven research techniques, can help you find almost any geographic location in the world. This presentation will teach you the geographic tools, techniques and search methods to find those obscure and elusive locations and in many cases, how to view photographs of the locations on your computer. Outline of this session (PDF file).