RootsTech Free Online Sessions – Friday, March 22

The RootsTech Conference continues on Friday with another 5 online sessions. Again these are live and for free. Each session is about an hour.

These are the sessions that will be online on Friday, March 22st:

10:30 Eastern Time (ET), 8:30 Mountain Time (MT), 7:30 Pacific time (PT)
Keynote – Jyl Pattee andTim Sullivan
Jyl Johnson Pattee is the founder of Mom It Forward Media, a digital agency and network of social media influencers. Currently, she sits on the Mom Advisory Council for ONE.org, is a Shot@Life Champion with the United Nations Foundation, was named one of Parent Magazine’s Top 10 Power Moms, and is on Babble’s list of Top Twitter Moms.

Timothy Sullivan has served as the President and Chief Executive Officer and as a director of Ancestry.com, Inc. since September 2005. Prior to joining Ancestry.com, Mr. Sullivan was Chief Operating Officer and then President and CEO of Match.com. Mr. Sullivan holds an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School and was a Morehead Scholar at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

 

11:45 am ET, 9:45 am MT, 8:45 am PT
Researching Ancestor Online – Laura Prescott
We’ll explore the important sites to use for beginning genealogists including some that may surprise you. Some are free. Some are fee. All are essential. Outline of this session (PDF file).

 

1:00 pm ET, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT
FamilySearch Family Tree – Ron Tanner
FamilySearch, a non-profit organization, is providing a genealogical database through Family Tree on www.familysearch.org. Family Tree provides a collaborative environment where people can work together to accurately describe and document ancestors. Come to this session and learn about Family Tree features, how you can get access, and how we can stop the research duplication by working together to preserve the most accurate genealogy for generations to come.

 

3:45 pm ET, 1:45 pm MT, 12:45 pm PT
Google Search… And Beyond – Dave Barney with Robert Gardner
With the launch of historical-data.org Web markup, Google’s search tools are now even more powerful for genealogists. This presentation explores new ways Google can be used to find ancestors and their stories. It will also explore how new Google+ features can assist in ancestral search.

 

5:00 pm ET, 3:00 pm MT, 2:00 pm PT
From Paper Piles to Digital Files – Valerie S. Elkins
Are you tired of spinning your wheels? Do you have a system in place to do the same complex tasks in a simple, repeatable fashion? The lack of systems and processes is all too common. The secret to a smoothly running research flow is documenting key systems and procedures so they can be easily repeated. Learn how to get started and become a highly organized genealogist by using programs like Evernote, OneNote, GTD and some new apps. Outline for this session (PDF file).