RootsTech 2014; Online Sessions Thursday

RootsTechI wanted to post this yesterday but I had an internet outage that only got fix this morning.

The RootsTech website says that online sessions start tomorrow morning at 8:30 (Mountain Time (MT). This disagrees with a published schedule but it makes sense as that is when the keynote session starts. 8:30 MT translates as 10:30 Eastern time or 7:30 Pacific Time.  So get ready to spend the next three days watching the online sessions. Here is the schedule for Thursday (all times Eastern Time):

  • 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m., General Session (Keynote) by Ree Drummond and Annelies van den Belt.
  • 12:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., Top 10 Things I Learned About My Family from My Couch by Tammy Hepps
  • 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., FamilySearch Family Tree: What’s New and What’s Next by Ron Tanner
  • 4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m., Intro to DNA for Genealogists by James Rader
  • 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., Genealogy in the Cloud by Randy Hoffman
  • 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., Sharing Your Family with Multimedia by Michael LeClerc

In the Keynote, Ree Drummond has an award winning blog called The Pioneer Woman on which she tells of living in the country. She actually lives on a working cattle ranch in Oklahoma. Then Annelies van den Belt is the CEO of DC Thomson Family History (formerly Brightsolid), host of over 1.8 billion genealogical records across a family of online brands, including Findmypast and Genes Reunited.

Make sure you watch Ron Tanner talk about FamilySearch Family Tree. Ron will discuss the features that have been added to Family Tree since the last RootsTech and how to use them. Plus he will tell of the next coming features. I’m not sure of Ron’s exact title but knows more about FS Family Tree than anyone else.

Michael J. LeClerc is the Chief Genealogist at Mocavo blog.